Beaufort County County, South-Carolina⁞1010.7± ACRES
1010.7 +/- Acre Historic ACE Basin Rice Plantation in Yemassee, South Carolina
- 1010.7 +/- acre Historic ACE Basin Rice Plantation. Circa 1698
- A++ location in Yemassee near Old Sheldon Church
- Dual ancient live oak entrances, canopied courtyard, manicured grounds, and Plantation home
- Less than 30 miles to Hilton Head, Beaufort and Palmetto Bluff
- 1 hour to Charleston & Savannah
- Over 250 acres of interior, controlled duck impoundments with excellent wild bird populations of teal, ringnecks, wood ducks and more
- Picturesque 14 +/- acre fishing pond behind the main plantation house with redfish, flounder, and other brackish water species
- Old growth quail woods with established courses
- 5000 + square foot plantation house with 5 bedrooms and 5 1/2 baths restored and renovated in 1990
- 2800 + square foot hunting lodge with 5 bedrooms and 3 baths.
- Manager's house, stables, pole barn, tractor shed and other storage facilities
- Unique private brackish water fishing opportunities on Huspah Creek
- Nearby ACE Basin Plantations include Castle Hill, Bindon, Twickenham, Nemours, Hobonny, Bonny Hall, Cherokee, Longbrow, Auldbrass, and many more.
Legendary Oak Allée Planted In The 1820s, World-Class Wild Waterfowl Hunting and Quail Woods, Manicured Grounds, And Elegant Lowcountry Estate. Circa 1698
Tomotley Plantation is among the finest Plantations in the ACE Basin for its wild ducks, historical, and ecological wealth. It is certainly one of the most prestigious, aesthetically pleasing, and iconic duck hunting Plantations in the entire region. This is the first time this property has been offered since 1990 and could likely be the last in our lifetime. Waterfowl hunting traditions date back to the early 1900s and remain strong today.
Tomotley consists of 1010.7 +/- acres. Dual half-mile canopied avenues of live oaks planted in 1820 create a beautiful moss-draped passageway into the heart of the Plantation. The entrance and grounds are one of the most coveted in the entire Southeast. Structures and grounds are meticulously manicured yet remain warm and inviting.
While all Plantations in this region are revered for their ecological significance, Tomotley ranks among the very best. The flora and fauna overwhelm the senses, and along with the abundance of wild ducks are a tremendous variety of coastal birds and wildlife. Nearly 250 acres of the plantation are controlled impoundments for waterfowl hunting. Approximately 125 acres are still in rice production. Hundreds of years of imprinting make this a hotbed for wild bird species of all kinds including teal, wood ducks, pintails, ringnecks, and many more. Other bird species that are commonly seen are large numbers of egrets, an annual flight of white pelicans, Canadian geese, herons, storks and many others.
Approximately 240 +/- acres are old growth quail woods, which are managed by fire and are prime habitat for whitetails and turkey. The mature quail woods surround the Old Sheldon Church Ruins that were formerly owned by William Bull of Newberry Plantation and are not protected by a conservation easement. The remaining 770.7 +/- acres are protected by a conservation easement.
Broken rice fields on the southeastern end of the Plantation offer unique fishing opportunities for tailing redfish, and other brackish water species along Huspah Creek. This is a very unique feature and adds another great sporting element to an already action-packed property.
The original Plantation house was destroyed in the Civil War. The current Plantation house was built by Robert McCurdy in 1910. Mr. McCurdy was a member of the Okeetee Club and a wealthy businessman from New York. He and many others purchased lands in this region because of the high quality sporting pursuits, especially ducks and quail. In 1990 the current owners purchased Tomotley and restored and expanded the home. The main Plantation house is a grand one-story construction with large foyer, expansive rooms, 5 bedrooms and 5 and ½ baths, and gorgeous back porch views. Adjacent to the house is a 14+/- acre lake that provides a picturesque backdrop to this quintessential lowcountry estate. The house has been classically modernized, restored, and improved.
Other historical improvements include a carriage house, manager’s house, hunting lodge with 5 bedrooms and 3 full baths, barns, and stables.
In 1698 Tomotley Barony was entitled to Captain Edmund Bellinger a landgrave and was a part of a greater entitlement of 48,000 acres. For this he paid 100 pounds or 10 shillings per one thousand acres and was given the distinguished honor to own the land. A Barony consisted of at least 12,000 acres, and at the time Tomotley Barony was around 13,000 acres. These lands would later be referred to as Prince William’s Parish and even later as Sheldon Church.
Edmund Bellinger died in 1706 and his grandson Edmund Bellinger held the land until his passing in 1739. Tomotley was then left to his widow, Elizabeth. In July of 1747 the Barony was divided among 14 different grantees and heirs. Tomotley, Brewton, Castle Hill, Bindon, and others were once part of the greater Barony. Elizabeth Butler Bellinger inherited what is now Tomotley Plantation and sold it to James Deveaux. Deveaux sold Tomotley to Ralph Izard in 1756, and Izard later bequeathed the Plantation to his son Walter in 1761. The Izard’s owned the Plantation for an extended period into the 1800s. Descendent Patience Wise Blackett Izard inherited Tomotely and planted the avenue of oaks in 1820.
In 1864 James Baggett bought the Plantation for $75,000 from the Izard family under much contention. The original Plantation home was burned by Sherman’s troops in 1865. There is a manager’s house, hunting lodge, barns and stables that survived the Civil War and still stand today. Tomotley would change hands several times post Civil War.
Tomotley and many other Plantations in the region were purchased by wealthy Northern businessmen after the Civil War as waterfowl and upland hunting retreats. In 1910, Tomotley was sold to the McCurdy’s of New York City. Robert H. McCurdy was a member of the Okeetee club and foreign officer for New York Mutual Life Insurance. He constructed the grand Plantation house that sits here today in 1910. G.V. Hollis later owned Tomotley. He was also a member of the Okeetee Club. The current owners acquired the Plantation in 1990 from the Bostwick family, and quickly breathed life back into the property and structures, built the lake behind the Plantation house, reclaimed the impoundments, and renovated the existing Plantation home.