Beaufort County, South-Carolina⁞2510± ACRES
2510.7 +/- Acre Historic ACE Basin Rice Plantation With Over One Mile Of Combahee River Frontage with Private Dock
- 2510.7 +/- acre Historic ACE Basin Rice Plantation
- A++ location with over 1 mile of Combahee River frontage complete with private dock
- Founded in 1732 under a Grant from King George, II of England and assembled in 1733 by Walter Izzard
- 20 Minutes to Historic Beaufort, and less than 45 minutes from Hilton Head Island and Bluffton
- 1 hour to Charleston & Savannah
- Over 300 acres of river-front and interior controlled rice fields with excellent wild bird populations of teal, ringnecks, wood ducks, pintails, and other species
- Major capital improvements in the functional hydraulics, reclaiming rice field ditches, widened and improved system of dikes, and new trunks and risers
- Old growth quail woods with established courses
- Excellent wildlife with high turkey and trophy whitetail populations
- Masterfully restored and furnished 4000 + square foot Federal style historic Plantation house with 4 bedrooms and 3 Â½ baths
- Restored guest cottage, lodge, stables, storage buildings, tractor shed, grain bins, and manager’s house
- 3300’ x 80’ private grass air strip
- 18 miles to the Walterboro Airport
- No conservation easement
- Unique and highly valuable conservation attributes
- Nearby ACE Basin Plantations include Tomotley, Cherokee, Hobonny, Old Combahee, Bonny Hall, Auldbrass, Nemours, and many more.
World-Class Wild Waterfowl Hunting, Manicured Quail Woods, And Restored Federal Style Manor. Circa 1733
Twickenham Plantation is located in the ACE Basin of South Carolina in Beaufort County and features over 2510.7 +/- manicured acres. There is an abundance of upland quail woods, controlled interior & river rice impoundments for waterfowl hunting, and over one mile of river frontage on the South side of the Combahee River with private dock access. Twickenham is in a league of its own… There is simply no other property in the ACE Basin with this level of quality, ecological and wildlife diversity, and restored improvements without any restrictive conservation easements.
Twickenham was originally founded in 1732 under a Grant from England’s King George II and was assembled by Walter Izzard in 1733. It was originally a part of Tomotley Barony, which spanned over 48,000 acres. The main Plantation house was built in 1878 by Major John Screven and is a two-story home with 4 bedrooms and 3.5 baths. It was extensively remodeled over a 3-year period, and completed in 2018. While keeping the elegance of the 18th century, the house now boasts a myriad of modern features and improvements including a chef’s kitchen with high-end appliances, expansive living rooms, plush bedrooms and bathrooms, and period appropriate furniture and furnishings throughout. A formal dining room overlooks gardens designed by Robert Marvin and Douglas Duany, landscape architects who are credited with other works like the Augusta National Golf Club, Sea Pines Resort, and the Governors Mansion grounds.
In addition to the main house and gardens are two historic guesthouses that have also been completely restored and modernized, a manager’s house, horse barn, stables, and several additional storage barns. Away from the campus is a large pole barn, tractor shed, and grain bins. There is zero deferred maintenance and no expense has been spared in this restoration and rejuvenation of Twickenham Plantation.
Over 300 acres of the property are in controlled impoundments dating back to the early 1700s. Twickenham lies in the heart of the ACE Basin and the duck hunting here simply is as good as it gets. Migrating species of all kinds call Twickenham home including teal, wood ducks, pintails, mallards, ringnecks, and many others. The current owner has re-engineered life back into the rice impoundments with major capital improvements in the functional hydraulics, reclaiming rice field ditches, widened and improved the dike system, and new trunks and risers placed with care to control water flow; all allowing the new owners to cultivate previously abandoned rice fields and expanding the footprint of hunting opportunities. The unique combination of river rice fields and private, protected interior rice fields is simply unmatched along the Combahee River.
Twickenham has been managed primarily with quail in mind and quail courses are established, planted and managed intensively throughout the property. Much of the property is in old growth upland quail woods, and is a stunning example of decades of stewardship. Whitetails and turkeys have responded to proper quail management practices and are abundant on the property. Whitetails and turkeys remain largely an untapped hunting resource here. Trophy bucks and flocks of wild turkeys are regularly seen on evening outings.
Other notable features are a 10 + acre dove field, a 1 + acre fish pond, a covered river dock that provides private boat access to the Combahee River, and a well-managed 3300 foot grass airstrip for quick access to and from Twickenham. The airstrip can easily be expanded to 5000 feet if more runway is desired.
Plantations across the river from Twickenham include Cherokee, Bluff, Plum Hill, Combahee, Myrtle Grove and others. On the Twickenham side of the river are Auldbrass, Old Combahee, Hobonny, Bonny Hall, Parkers Ferry, and others. To the south and east of Twickenham are Castle Hill, Cotton Hall, Tomotley, Bindon and more.
There are no conservation easements on Twickenham, and it has an abundance of unique and highly valuable attributes.